How To Become A Real Estate Agent
Welcome to TREA, your trusted licensed provider of real estate educational services in North Carolina! If you’re wondering how to get your license in North Carolina, we’re here to guide you through the process. First and foremost, you’ll need to take our 75 Hour Prelicense course, which is accredited and meets the requirements of the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. Our course will provide you with the knowledge and skills you need to succeed in the real estate industry.
After completing our course, you’ll need to pass the end-of-course exam to become eligible to sit for the North Carolina Real Estate Brokers exam. Once you pass the state exam, you’ll become a Provisional Broker. As a Provisional Broker, you’ll need to be supervised by a Broker In Charge (BIC), who manages a real estate firm. You’ll need to find a firm based on the type of real estate you want to specialize in.
At TREA, we are committed to helping you achieve success in your real estate career. Our experienced instructors will provide you with the training and support you need to pass the prelicense course and state exam with flying colors. Get started today and take the first step towards a fulfilling career in the real estate industry!
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What do I have to do to get my license in North Carolina?
First, you’ll need to take the 75 Hour Prelicense course from an accredited school like ours. (TREA is a licensed provider of real estate educational services in North Carolina.) Once you complete our course, you’ll have to pass the end-of-course exam, then you’ll be eligible to sit for the North Carolina Real Estate Brokers exam.
Once you get your license, you’ll become what’s called a Provisional Broker. Provisional Brokers have to be supervised by a Broker In Charge (BIC), who manages a Real Estate firm. You’ll have to find a firm, depending upon the type of real estate you want to do.
How quickly can I get my license?
Our classes are anywhere from eight to nine weeks. Once you complete those classes, then you sign up to take the state exam, and you’ll have 180 days from the time you sign up, to pass the state exam. We encourage our students to take the state exam within 45 days of completing the class, because the information will be fresh in your mind.
As soon as you sign up for the state exam, agencies will start recruiting you, and it’ll be up to you to interview those firms, and determine what would be the best match for you.
How much time should I spend studying?
You should plan to spend at least 10 hours per week studying outside of class.
What are the requirements for getting a license?
According to the Real Estate Licensing In North Carolina booklet, you must…
1) Be at least 18 years of age;
2) Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S. and be authorized to work in the U.S. in the real estate brokerage field;
3) Have a Social Security Number;
4) Satisfy the Education Qualification requirement;
5) File a complete application and fee;
6) Pass the two-part real estate license examination; and
7) Satisfy the Commission that the applicant possesses the requisite character for licensure.
What if I have a criminal history?
There are some criminal offenses that will stop you from getting your real estate license. If you have a criminal background, we can help you to send your information to the Real Estate Commission so they can preapprove you to get license. They will run a background check and make a determination.
How many hours do I need to spend with an instructor, either in a classroom or via Zoom?
The complete course is 75 hours long.